Beware Armed Gangs

I saw a poster like this for the first time in 1996, when I first moved to the Northwest. I was stunned and inspired. Stunned that someone would have the insight and sense of humor to create such a compelling piece, and inspired to spread it all around town. So I scammed Kinko’s out of a few hundred copies and posted them all over downtown and campus. I don’t know what happened to the original, but I’ve been scouring the streets and internet to find it for a while, and I finally came across it innocently hanging in the window of an anarchist-owned vegan organic cafe called Red and Black in Portland, OR. (Actually it was a different rendition, but that means it’s good enough to have been reimagined twice) I took a picture of it and recreated it my own way in PS. Enjoy!

